Slow Food London Awards announced

Categories: News and previews

Borough Market traders receive recognition from Slow Food members

Slow Food London has announced the winners of its annual awards: a celebration of producers, traders, shops and restaurants whose approach to food chimes with the ethos of this campaigning organisation while also whetting the appetites of its members.

Voted for by the thousands of individual members of Slow Food London, without any prior shortlisting, the awards represent the personal choices of a group of Londoners who care passionately about the quality and provenance of what they eat.

This year’s results have been extremely positive for Borough Market’s traders, many of whom have topped their respective categories. The recognition offered by the awards is reward for the hard work that these highly dedicated traders put in to either producing or sourcing products in a sustainable, small-scale, environmentally sound way—products that respect culinary traditions while tasting absolutely amazing.

Here are the results in full:

Best baker
Winner: Bread Ahead, Borough Market
Runner-up: Gail’s, London-wide

Best butcher
Winner: The Ginger Pig, London-wide
Runner-up: Dugard & Daughters, Herne Hill

Best cheesemonger
Winner: Bianca e Mora, Borough Market
Runner-up: La Fromagerie, Marylebone & Highbury

Best deli / grocer
Winner: Bianca e Mora, Borough Market
Runner-up: La Fromagerie, Marylebone & Highbury

Best fishmonger
Winner: Sussex Fish, Borough Market
Runner-up: Walter Purkiss, Crouch End

Best greengrocer
Winner: Chegworth Valley, Borough Market, Notting Hill and London-wide markets
Runner-up: Wild Country Organics, London-wide market

Best market
Winner: Borough Market
Runner-up: Marylebone Farmers’ Market

Best restaurant / eatery
Winner: Gourmet Goat, Borough Market
Runner-up: Pulia, Bankside

Slow Food London best individual product
Winner: Bianca e Mora red cow parmesan, Borough Market
Runner-up: Oliveology unpasteurised olives, Borough Market

Slow Food London ambassador of the year
Winner: Deirdre Woods